Speakers List 2015

Invited speakers

Christopher Kyba has been studying light at night since 2009 as part of the interdisciplinary "Verlust der Nacht" (Loss of the Night) research collaboration. His primary research interest is understanding the ecological impacts of night lighting, with a particular focus on effects caused by skyglow. His current major research interests are understanding skyglow on overcast nights (through a combination of time-series data and radiative transfer models) and understanding worldwide trends in skyglow (using citizen science). He developed the "Loss of the Night" app, is a member of the "Loss of the Night Network", and sits on the board of directors of the IDA.

Chun Shing Jason Pun (Department of Physics, University of Hong Kong) has been studying light pollution in Hong Kong for over a decade, measuring the night sky brightness (NSB) using both traditional astronomical techniques and participations of the community. In 2009, the Hong Kong Night Sky Brightness Monitoring Network was established to perform continuous long-term monitoring of the variation of NSB over a wide range of urban and rural settings. Results of the survey clearly illustrated the damaging effects of artificial lighting on the night sky. Dr Pun is also heavily involved in the education of the general public, particularly students, of the environmental impacts of light pollution. (Night sky research webpage:

Kimberly Baugh is an Associate Scientist with the Cooperative Institute of Research in the Environmental Sciences (CIRES) at the University of Colorado at Boulder working in the Earth Observation Group at the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration's National Geophysical Data Center (NOAA/NGDC). Her primary research interest is in algorithm development and product generation from spaceborne low-light visible band imaging data. She has worked with data from the Defense Meteorological Satellite Program Operational Linescan System (DMSP-OLS) since 1994, creating the widely used global annual stable lights products from this instrument. Recently, her focus has shifted to algorithm development using data from the Visible and Infrared Imaging Radiometer Suite (VIIRS) Day-Night Band (DNB).

Stefan Noll is a researcher at the Institute for Astro- and Particle Physics of the University of Innsbruck in Austria. Since 2009, he has been working there on a better understanding of the night-sky radiation and transmission especially at Cerro Paranal in Chile, the site of the Very Large Telescope of the European Southern Observatory (ESO). He is the main developer of the Cerro Paranal Sky Model, which is an important ingredient of ESO's astronomical exposure time calculators. His current research focuses on the investigation of airglow line and continuum radiation by means of data from astronomical echelle spectrographs.

Martin Aubé got his Phd degree in remote sensing from U. Sherbrooke, Canada and a MSc degree in astrophysics from U. Laval, Canada. M. Aubé is professor at Cégep de Sherbrooke physics department, where he is researcher/ coordinator of GRAPHYCS research group. He is associate professor of the applied geomatics department at U. Sherbrooke. Amongs many other affiliations, he is associate researcher at Centre d'applications et de recherche en télédétection (CARTEL), researcher at the Centre de recherche en astrophysique du Québec (CRAQ). Dr Aubé was awarded in 2014 by the Québec's Research council (FRQNT) with the Excellence in research award.

Welcome talks

  1. John Barentine - IDA (USA)
  2. Mihai Pecingina - IDA Québec (Canada)

Introductory speakers

  1. Sébastien Giguère (Canada)
  2. Guillaume Poulin (Canada)
  3. Rémi Boucher (Canada)

Regular speakers

  1. Peter Hiscocks (Canada)
  2. Kellie Pendoley (Australia)
  3. Antony Tekatch (Canada)
  4. Zoltan Kollath (Hungary)
  5. Salvador Ribas (Spain)
  6. Víctor Tilve-Rua (Spain)
  7. Kai Pong Tong (Germany)
  8. Robert Dick (Canada)
  9. Andreas Haenel (Germany)
  10. Henk Spoelstra (Netherlands)
  11. Dan Duriscoe (USA)
  12. Bill Wren (USA)
  13. Mauro Pravettoni (Switzerland)
  14. William Blanchette (Canada)
  15. Simon Houle (Canada)
  16. Netzel Henryka (Poland)
  17. Alejandro Sanchez De Miguel
  18. Anita Domeny (Hungary)
  19. Malcolm St-John (Canada)
  20. Konstantin Baibakov (Canada)
  21. Johanne Roby (Canada)
  22. Antoine Morin-Paulhus (Canada)
  23. Connie Walker (USA)
  24. Sami Chibani (Canada)
  25. Gaspard Reulet (Canada)
  26. Andrej Mohar (Slovenia)

Non speakers

  1. Olivier Domingue (Canada)
  2. Luc Bouchard (Canada)
  3. Philippe Karan (Canada)
  4. Sunny Roy (Canada)
  5. Robert Ryan (Australia)
  6. Michael Chapman (Australia)
  7. Cheung Sze Leung (Japan)
  8. Roland Dechesne (Canada)